Book Notification

Willimena Rules! Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Willimena Rules! Books

How to Lose Your Cookie Money (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Lose Your Class Pet (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Fish for Trouble (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Ruin Your School Play (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
23 Ways to Mess Up Valentine's Day (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Face Up to the Class Bully (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
9 Steps to the Best, Worst, Greatest Holiday Ever! (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Have the Best Kwanzaa Ever (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Valerie Wilson Wesley has said that the “Willimena Rules!” books are about how you need to forgive yourself when you cannot control the circumstances involved in something that you are doing. Wesley has based the two sisters in the series (who are named Tina- the older of the two and Willimena) on her own two daughters who are named Nandi and Thembi.

The series is for kids ages seven to ten years old or grades two through five. The series of books is illustrated by Maryn Roos and have interesting chapter titles.

Willimena Thomas has a role model and it is Harriet Tubman for her strength and courage. She goes to Harriet Tubman Elementary School and is in the third grade. She gets into trouble in each book and her big sister Tina helps her out, but Tina ends up making things worse. But at least her heart was in the right place while helping her. Her family has a cat named Doofus Doolittle. Willimena comes from a black family.

“How to Lose Your Class Pet” written by Valerie Wilson Wesley is the first book in the “Willimena Rules!” series that was released in the year 2003. Willie is about to enter the third grade and she finds that Mrs. Sweetly (who is not so sweet, she finds), is going to be her teacher for the entire year. She wonders if there is a way to charm Sweetly the sinister. She tries to impress her teacher by taking the class pet home, but loses him by looking away while she cleans his cage. He makes a break for it does Lester. Lester is the floppy eared guinea pig.

Fans of the novel found that Wesley has created a character that young people can identify with, and the part where Willimena faces the prospect of getting a new teacher is something that we can all relate to. This, for some, is a cute book that kids enjoy. Readers find themselves loving Willimena who is caring, kind, and insecure. She is everything that a real human girl is. She even has a real relationship with her older sister Tina.

“How To Fish For Trouble” written by Valerie Wilson Wesley is the second book in the “Willimena Rules!” series that was released in the year 2004. Teddy, Willie’s preferred cousin, comes to visit during spring break. Spring break is Willie’s favorite time of the year. Fishing, bird watching with Willie’s dad, and flying their kites are on the agenda for the four. Willie’s dad and Tina are set to join them in their fun. Teddy takes the spotlight and things become about her a lot; she goes from favorite cousin to Teddy the Terrible. So Willie tries to impress everyone and catch more fish than anyone. Teddy catches the only fish of the day, making Willie want to fish for trouble.

Fans of the novel found that it was a pretty cool book that helps kids learn that you should not be jealous and helps by giving tips so that you can deal with your jealousy. This book shows you what happens when a child feels left out; something that every child has felt at one point and you get to see how Willimena handles things. A great way to get kids to read, and teach them valuable lessons that they will be able to use for the rest of their lives.

“How To Lose Your Cookie Money” written by Valerie Wilson Wesley is the third book in the “Willimena Rules!” series that was released in the year 2005. As a member of the girl scouts, Willimena sells cookies like no other. So much so, that she is given a badge for selling the most in her group. She spends the money that she made selling the cookies, however, trying to live up to Girl Scout Law. Although, at the same time, she breaks it. She is about to be kicked out of her troup, and is going to face the humiliation and pain that goes along with that. But she and big sister Tina come up with something that is supposed to help Willie get the money back. It backfires though, and that is when things really start to get interesting.

Fans of the novel like that you get to see some things that you can try if you lose some of your money and try to earn it back. This book makes reading fun for eight year old kids. This series is a great way for young kids to spend their reading time, and develop their reading skills. Some girls who are involved in the Girl Scouts will enjoy the novel, as it captures what goes on in the scouts.

“How to (Almost) Ruin Your School Play” written by Valerie Wilson Wesley is the fourth book in the “Willimena Rules!” series that was released in the year 2005. Willie assumes that because Tina, her big sister, is in charge of casting and directing the play for the school that she will be a shoo in for the lead. She goes to bed dreaming that everyone will love her performances, and give her rave reviews for being in the play. Things do not go well at the audition and Willimena is cast as a tree with no dialogue. That being said, though, she still manages to make the headlines and one of the words used to describe the result was “Nightmare”. She tap-dances during the opening night performance and it makes things not go very well for her. She makes things worse than she even thought possible.

Fans of the novel like the way that the series presents a human and interesting character in Willimena. She tries to be a star and it does not work, but then tries to make it right. These books are able to tell a great story but at the same time give a good message for the readers. It also gives them lessons on how to be a better person. Parents find that they are able to bond with their kids through reading these books, and it has improved the communication between them and their child.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Willimena Rules!

Leave a Reply