Book Notification

Wishcraft Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Wishcraft Mysteries Books

It Takes a Witch (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Witch Before Dying (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good, the Bad, and the Witchy (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Goodbye Witch (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Some Like It Witchy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone With the Witch (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch and the Dead (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Catch a Witch (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Witch to Remember (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Wishcraft Mystery is a series of novels from American Author Heather Blake. Set within a supernaturally themed neighborhood in Salem, Massachusetts, the series follows two sisters in the twenties as they come into their own as witches, learning to use their powers for good.

The Story

The Wishcraft Mystery series is quite fluffy and lighthearted in its approach. With the first novel in the series published in 2012, the Wishcraft mystery series follows Sisters Darcy and Harper Merriweather.

Now in their 20s, when their mother dies the girls move in with their Aunt Velma (also called Aunt Ve). Despite their mother being a witch, neither Harper nor Darcy ever came to know of their heritage as supernaturally gifted girls.

With witchery hereditary in nature and each family boasting a very specific gift in the arena of magic, the sisters are Wishcrafters. They have the ability to grant wishes. And whenever an individual utters the words ‘I Wish…,” within their vicinity, they are obligated to fulfill the wish in question, but only if the wish-maker is mortal, pure of heart and their wish is not intended to bring harm to others.

The series is set within the Enchanted Village, a small neighborhood within Salem; it is a place brimming with magic and witches of all sorts, so much so that Darcy and Harper struggle to differentiate between mortals and crafters. And because Aunt Ve will not identify for them the witches within their midst, determined to let them understand the supernatural world on their own, the Sisters encounter numerous comical situations emerging out of misunderstandings and miscommunications.

Within Heather Blake’s Wishcraft Mystery series, witches are bound by certain rules that must remain unbroken; chief amongst these rules is keeping one’s heritage as a witch hidden from normal humans, with witches that break this law typically punished very severely.

Additionally, witches cannot interfere with life or death, and are barred from granting their own or the wishes of other wishcrafters.

The series utilizes a mysterious entity only known as the Elder to punish those persons that break witchcraft laws. Those witches that break the law are summoned to a tree in the woods where they encounter the Elder, often only manifesting as a voice in the light.

The Wishcraft Mystery series is likely to appeal to those individuals with a taste for the supernatural, tinged with elements of mystery and humor.

+The Author

Heather Webber is an American Author known for writing novels within the mystery and romance genres. She has also written novels within the paranormal genres under the name Heather Blake.

Heather grew up in the Suburbs of Boston. She has expressed a love for all things witch-themed on numerous occasions, her desire to write paranormal mysteries explained by TV shows like ‘Bewitched’ and ‘Quincy’ whose supernaturally-themed stories spurred her forward to dream.

Heather enjoys delving into her characters’ souls, often coming to understand them more than she does herself, so much so that she has spoken of the hurt she experiences each time a series is cancelled and she must say goodbye to girls she had come to call friends.

Most of Heather Blake’s work is brimming with strong female characters, flawed in their own way yet powerful and determined to utilize their gifts to bring great change to the world around them.

With more than 20 novels under her belt, Heather has been nominated twice for an Agatha Award. She has expressed an interest in reality TV, this along with reading, cooking, and baking.

+It Takes a Witch

Darcy and Harper Merriweather come from a long line of witches. With the specific ability to grant wishes using spells, it isn’t until they move to the Enchanted Village in Salem, Massachusetts, intent on joining the family business that they find magic, and lots of murder.

With their mother dead, the responsibility of shepherding them towards their birthright falls upon their Aunt Velma, who reveals to them their heritage and magical abilities. Determined to leave their dead-end jobs behind the Sisters move to their Aunt’s Witch-themed town to better understand their magic; however, things quickly take a strange turn.

A wannabe Witch turns up dead; worse still, she was strangled by Aunt Ve’s scarf. Despite the fact that Velma’s sweetheart, Skylar, was found looming over the body, Aunt Ve is determined to stand by her man.

Darcy isn’t nearly as certain of Skylar’s innocence, however, not when she heard him wish that the victim would disappear. With her sister distracted by a new crush, Darcy must sniff out the truth.

The first novel in the Wishcraft Mystery series, ‘It takes a Witch’ is quite unique in the approach it takes to witchcraft, with witches in Heather Blake’s world restricted to very specific fields of magic as opposed to wantonly throwing magic around whenever and however they wish.

‘It Takes a Witch’ is mostly fun; the story is delightful overall, and the murders, mysteries, and magic blend together almost perfectly. With a number of secondary threads running through it, Heather Blake’s first novel in the series has often been compared to one of several Cozy Mystery books. Those readers who can ignore the various plot convenience and illogical actions of many of the characters are bound to enjoy this lighthearted, often silly, but none the less entertaining book.

+A Witch before Dying

When Elodie Keaton decides to sell her Mother’s home, she hires Darcy to clean out the place beforehand; it had been a year and a half since Patrice Keaton disappeared, shortly before Elodie was to be married.

It doesn’t take Darcy long to uncover a connection between Elodie and her mother’s troubled lives, and a magic-imbued black opal known as the Anicula amulet with the ability to allow anyone within close proximity to grant wishes, both harmful and benign, and to humans as well as crafters. Darcy quickly learns of the dangers posed by the Anicula Amulet and the consequences that can emerge from using its powers to grant wishes.

Any readers that enjoyed “It takes a Witch’ are bound to get a kick out of its sequel, the second novel in the Wishcraft Mystery series just as light hearted, fluffy and illogical as its predecessors. With various characters often acting irrationally, many times forgetting crucial bits of information for the purposes of the plot, ‘A Witch before Dying’ delivers enough mysteries and surprises to entertain.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Wishcraft Mysteries

One Response to “Wishcraft Mysteries”

  1. Gerry cray: 2 years ago

    loved these books so much fun


Leave a Reply