Book Notification

Witch Child Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Witch Child Books

Witch Child Series
Witch Child is a historical fiction series by Celia Rees. The series takes you back to a time when women were persecuted for being witches by societies that had relied on their help for generations. In this series, you also see what it means to be a modern-day witch. In this series, Mary went through a few unfortunate events trying to run away from people who were ready to execute her publicly. While she later learned how to accept herself and even find a loving and accepting community, she underwent a lot of unnecessary pain.

Witch Child
Witch Child comes first in the Witch Child series. The book introduces Mary Newbury, a young woman who is about to experience the power of prejudice. Mary’s experiences have been hidden in her diary and date back to 1659. It is during this year that Mary’s grandmother was publicly executed for being a witch. Mary lived with her grandmother before her death, and the two earned a living through midwifery and herb lore. The young girl is surprised that what the neighbors used to call help had quickly turned into a crime. After escaping a similar fate as her grandmother, Mary decides to start afresh in the New World.
Many dangers characterize Mary’s journey to the New World. However, it is clear that London can no longer be home again for this young lady and the horrors of what happened to her grandmother are still fresh in her mind. While Mary anticipates that life in her new home will be different, she is horrified to discover it is the same. This young girl is indeed a witch, so it is not easy for her to conceal her real identity. She finds it shocking that her healing powers are feared wherever she goes. It turns out that her grandmother’s senseless killing was Mary’s first lesson on the power of public opinion, and there were many more along the way.

This story is told from Mary’s POV through her lost diary entries. The story starts in Cromwellian England and ends in Puritan America. Throughout her journey, Mary worries that her secret will be uncovered. Her growing understanding of her real identity makes her more sensitive to the jealousies, intolerance, and suspicion around her. Through Mary, we also get a glimpse of bitter rivalries in Puritan America. While the themes here are rather dark, they are lightly done, so they are more thought-provoking rather than disturbing. The narrative is straightforward, and the main focus is on Mary and her experiences as a woman who didn’t fit into society.

Witch Child is a captivating read that touches on the witch hunts experienced in North America in the 1600s. Throughout those horrifying and tumultuous times, many women lost their lives. In this story, the protagonist’s grandmother is among those who were publicly executed. According to Mary, all her grandmother did was help people and use her healing powers for the good of her community. This is not an all-sad story. As you get deeper into this tale, you start to feel the magic being awakened, and you can only wish and hope that you will be reading more on the witch’s choices in the next installment. This book also emphasizes how opinions and laws are influenced mainly by society.

Sorceress comes second in the Witch Child series. This book picks where the last one ended only that for the first 100 pages, you will be reading about Agnes, a woman who sees a vision from Mary. While these two women are separated by about 400 years, they are linked by blood, and they both come with special powers. From page 101, we get back to Mary, who has now found love, loyalty, and independence in a Native American Community. In this accepting community, her gifts are appreciated, and Mary feels like she can finally settle and enjoy her new family.

The blossoming relationship between Mary and Jaybird, who was briefly introduced in the first book, is perhaps the most exciting thing in this book. You will relish seeing them enjoying each other’s company in a society where Mary is accepted. Unfortunately, this story doesn’t come with a happy ending. When war erupts, Mary and all the people in her current society are forced to flee and go in search of safer grounds. The war between the settlers and Indians went on for many years. Throughout this period, people struggled to fight for their homeland and hold on to their traditions. However, change was inevitable, and those who survived had to find new ways to survive.

This story is a continuation of Witch Child from the POV of Mary’s descendants. The story introduces the Native American clan that takes Mary as their own and shows her the kindness she had been searching for. The author cleverly fuses Mary’s story and that of Agnes, the Native American girl, and there is enough to show you will be reading more about this girl in future installments. This book blends history and fiction so well it almost reads like a true story. We read about Native Americans, their ways of life, and beliefs where witchcraft was concerned and get a glimpse of Mary’s life after the dramatic events in the first book.

Sorceress is another exciting story in witchcraft and its evolution in modern times. The story starts during Mary’s time when the intolerance is at an all-time high to current times through Agnes’s life. It is clear that the author has a deep respect for the Native American people. She also paints a clear picture of how life must have been for those who were fortunate to live in this historical era. In the first part of the book, Rees spends some time introducing a new character who will mostly take a leading role in future books. The action picks up from where Mary’s story starts, and the pace doesn’t ease up until the last page. Curious to see what happened to Mary after the events in the first book. Read this second installment for this and more.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Witch Child

Leave a Reply