Book Notification

Witch City Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Witch City Mysteries Books

Caught Dead Handed (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tails, You Lose (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Look Both Ways (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Go Round (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grave Errors (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Takes a Coven (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bells, Spells, and Murders (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Exam (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Late Checkout (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder, Take Two (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
See Something (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
'Til Death (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Now You See It (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Scene (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Carol J. Perry was born on Halloween eve, in Salem, Massachusetts. This is also the magical city that serves as the backdrop for
Witch City Mystery series. Carol J. Perry is also the author of numerous young adult books. Her nonfiction articles on antiques, ecology and travel often appear in national and regional publications.

Carol J. Perry knew well as a kid that she wanted to become a writer. As a voracious reader, whose extensive list for Santa mostly consisted of book titles, Carol never lost her sight for that goal. While still living in Florida, she was on an assignment for The Southern Travel Magazine, preparing articles on the largest sand castle in the world which was being constructed near her home. The combination of these events inspired Carol’s first young adult book, Sand Castle Summer. The book was later followed by several other books that she has written.

Carol J. Perry has always been an enthusiastic reader of the mysteries. Her first mystery novel has been set in Salem and includes O’Ryan, a mysterious cat, various witches and several strange Halloween happenings. Appropriately enough, the Salem-born writer celebrates her birthday on the Halloween Eve! Carol lives with her husband Dan in the Tampa Bay area, Florida with a Black Lab and 2 cats.

Carol Perry wrote the first book in the Witch City Mystery series in September 2014 and it’s set in Salem, Massachusetts. A lot of people associate the Salem city with witches. However, for Lee Barrett, it is her home. She returns to her home city– where her cherished Aunt Ibby still lives for an interview for a job as a news reporter at WICH-TV only to be involved in a murder saga.

Description Of 2 Early Books:

Caught Dead Handed

This is the first book in Witch City Mystery Series by Carol J. Perry. This is a fun little cozy mystery novel for the Halloween seasons. It is basically your typical cozy formula revolving around a woman who returns to her hometown after having been away in city for several years, only to end up being caught in a murder mystery. The woman, Lee Barrett, returns to her home city of Salem after an untimely death of her husband. Lee Barret thinks that she has a job already lined-up as a reporter for a local TV station. However, when she turns up for the interview, she discovers that the job has already been filled. In a twist of events, the station’s psychic is found dead, by Lee Barret herself. Lee later gets hired by the station to fill in the vacant post. She’s reluctant at first. However, when she starts to have visions, Lee starts to wonder whether she’s really psychic. As Halloween approaches quickly, Salem town is overrun by a killer and witches which appears to have the City’s newest psychic in their sights.

This is a great start to this new series of cozy mysteries by Carol J. Perry. You’ll get to meet and also know several characters as you get deeper into the novel. Hopefully some of these characters will continue appearing in later novels (besides the main characters). The mystery is actually fascinating. You might be made to make changes as new clues get revealed as you read this novel. For instance, you won’t realize that there was more than one murder until you read to the very end.

However, it’s important to note the fact that the story had some problems that are quite common to lighter cozy mystery series. Clues that ought to reveal the killers go completely past all the characters, even if they’re the ones who are talking about them. They might make you think of the individuals who look at Superman and Clark Kent without ever seeing any resemblance between these two. In addition, Lee Barret goes back and forth in between being reasonably suspicious and cautious to blindly going alone with one of the people that she suspected might be one of the killers. However, for most mystery series enthusiasts, it’s always easier to see the solutions for the outside part of the story and in case they solved it quickly, it wouldn’t be fun to read at all.

For an interesting series, witchcraft and witches play a very important role in the story. To make things even better, the cat while
supposedly very intelligent at times and possibly familiar with witches, still acts just like a cat most of the times. In short, Witch City Mystery Series is mainly a mystery series with touches of the paranormal and many more that you will enjoy.

Tails, You Lose

This is the second book in Witch City Mystery Series by Carol. J. Perry. The author has conjured up a great mystery, brewed with the paranormal flares. Lee Barrett is back again in this second installment of Witch City Mystery series. Lee Barret is a strong protagonist in this novel with mystical powers. People who love cats will simply adore her cat, O’Ryan. It is always fun to read scenes that involve him.

After losing her job as the TV psychic, Lee has decided to just volunteer her talent as the instructor at Tabitha Trumbull Academy of Arts. The academy is commonly known as “The Tabby” in her town of Salem, Massachusetts. However, when the academy’s handyman is found dead under seemingly inexplicable circumstances on the Christmas night, Lee Barret’s clairvoyant capabilities start bubbling to the surface once more.

The Tabby, as it’s widely known, is housed at the long-vacant Trumbull Department Store. As Lee Barret and her students start
working on a documentary charting the history of the store, they unravel a century of several family secrets, the deathbed whispers along with a mysterious labyrinth of tunnels that were hidden right below the Salem streets. Even the witches within this town are spooked, and when Barret starts to see visions in the larger black patent leather pump found in her classroom, Lee is
certain that something evil is afoot. However, ghosts in the Trumbull store’s attic are the least things among her worries with the killer on the loose.

Another fun novel in Witch City Mystery Series by Carol J. Perry, this second installment might actually be better that Caught Dead Handed. Overall, it’s an enjoyable read and this is a series that you will be eagerly waiting for every new release.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Witch City Mystery

Leave a Reply