Book Notification

Wizard in Rhyme Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Wizard in Rhyme Books

Her Majesty's Wizard (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Oathbound Wizard (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch Doctor (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secular Wizard (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Son, the Wizard (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunted Wizard (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crusading Wizard (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Feline Wizard (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Wizard in Rhyme” series that is written by author Christopher Stasheff follows Matthew Mantrell, who is a Ph. D. student, that is taken to a world where magic is used by reciting poetry. He is a powerful wizard due to his studying literature that gave him a strong knowledge of poetry; this knowledge of poetry makes him a lord wizard of the realm.

The series takes place in a version of medieval Europe, one that features many geographical changes. One of the biggest is a land bridge that connects the mainland to Britain. There is also the use of magic through rhymed verse, as well as Judeo-Christian version of God and Devil. This last leads to Christian thought and morality to win the day.

The series started in the year 1986 with the release of the novel “Her Majesty’s Wizard”. It ended in the year 2000 with the release of “The Feline Wizard”, which is the eighth novel of the series and second released in 2000. The series is from the genre of fantasy.

“Her Majesty’s Wizard” is the first novel in the “A Wizard in Rhyme” series and was released in the year 1986. Matt Mantrell translates some runes that are on a piece of parchment, and he is taken to another world. In this world, he is kept prisoner by Malingo (who is an evil sorcerer). Matt tries to get a light, and gets a dragon (named Stegoman) who needs a dentist and has gotten drunk on fire.

They are able to rescue Princess Alisande, who is the rightful ruler of her kingdom. Everyone fights to restore her to her kingdom, with the help of Sayeesa (a lust witch), Brunel (a werewolf priest), and Sir Guy.

Fans of the novel found that once the story gets going, it hooks readers in and they cannot break free or put the book down. Some found that when they returned to the book that they loved when they were younger, they still loved it. This is not one that tries to tackle deeper issues, but is simply a fun book to read. You will still feel quite a bit of emotions while reading the novel, be they happy ones or sad ones.

“The Oathbound Wizard” is the second novel in the “A Wizard in Rhyme” series and was released in the year 1993. Besides having fame and fortune, and being Lord High Wizard, Matt has also won the heart of Queen Alisande. They are unable to marry due to the fact that he is just a commoner in this weird land.

He vows that he will claim a kingdom, any which one, so that he can marry the one that he loves. This is a world that such a vow is not one that you can break. Matt has to get himself a kingdom and a crown or die trying to.

He goes after Ibile (a place that is like Spain/ Portugal), a place where Gordorgrosso rules with both his iron fist and evil magic as his main weapons. He goes after the tyrant and gets a band of allies together. They include a dracogriff (who is surly), a damsel in distress, and a cyclop (one that is well spoken).

To best this opponent, he will need a lot more than strong friends and some good rhymes.

Fans of the novel found that this is similar to the first book, but has more ideas it explores and new characters. It spends more time trying to look at the people who inhabit this place and the geographical aspects, rather than outline all of the rules. Christopher Stasheff is great at spinning yarns and this one is no different. This is a great series to follow, for some as the books are hard to put down and it is just fun to read.

“The Witch Doctor” is the third novel in the “A Wizard in Rhyme” series and was released in the year 1994. The novel is set at the same time as the beginning of the first book in the series. Saul is a guy with few friends, so that when Matt disappeared, he went looking for him. He found him. In a world of magic and danger.

Saul quickly finds that his love of verse has made him a wizard in this land. He has earned a nasty foe, in the form of Queen Suettay. She is a false queen with no equal at being wicked and corrupt; she is also a deadly sorceress herself. She has an evil army that is ready to go and carry out all of her evil commands; as this queen would like to destroy his power, or take his soul away and give it to Satan.

Saul has got some strong friends. They include: Gruesome (the troll), Angelique (beautiful guardian angel for Saul), Gilbert (a young Squire), and Spider King (who is mysterious). He is going to need Spider King’s help to shut this tyrant down.

Fans of the novel found that once again, there is another great read from this series and author. Readers enjoy the parts that talk about Christianity and religious things in such a way that does not make the whole thing preachy. Some found that this was an action packed installment that featured a great reluctant hero in Saul.

“The Secular Wizard” is the fourth novel in the “A Wizard in Rhyme” series and was released in the year 1995. Laturia (Italy) has just lost its wicked old king; its new king turns its back on ruling with Evil. Turmoil spreads throughout the land, across the border into another country; the new king even resists Good.

Matt Mantrell, who is in Merovence (which is like France) sets out, in a disguise, to investigate matters. He never thought that Laturia’s prime minister, an evil man, would be mobilizing forces. Matt sings his way to the south, getting past both critics of music and nasty evil enemies on the way.

When he and his group hit the capital, a harsh reality waits for them. The capital does not have streets paved with gold. Matt has a much larger reality waiting for him; in the form of the ultimate test of magic. He will need plenty of help to pass this large task.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Wizard in Rhyme

Leave a Reply