Book Notification

Women of the West Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Women Of The West Books

The Calling of Emily Evans (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Julia's Last Hope (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roses for Mama (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Woman Named Damaris (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Measure of a Heart (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
They Called Her Mrs. Doc (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bride for Donnigan (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart of the Wilderness (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Long a Stranger (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bluebird and the Sparrow (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gown of Spanish Lace (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Drums of Change (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Janette Oke is a committed evangelical Christian, a grandmother, a wife and a mother of four grown children including a pair of twins. She has dedicated her writing career to writing Christian inspirational books most set in the pioneer era and centered on the woman’s strength. Born in he great depression in 1935 February 18th, she is a Canadian writer who has write more than 75 books in her life. 32 of the books she has written have been translated to 14 languages and her books have sold over 22 million copies. This short information about the author is just to give you a small overview of just how successful and loved the author is.

The women of the west book series is one amongst the many book series’ written by Janette Oke. These books feature stories of many different women and their challenges in both their lives and the external world with some trying to save the very communities they hail from even when they are not very readily accepted by the people of the community or trusted to make any change for that matter. The books show how women who trust in God and who are determined to let nothing stop them, can eventually make great changes and save many people in the process. It also shows how there are many different challenges that face the woman and not just in the pioneer period but today also. The series reviles that a woman whose life has many challenges can have the chance to overcome them if only she believes in God and herself.

This series is mainly centered on showing everyone male or female that even in the pioneer times, people faced challenges that seemed to be beyond what they could stand. Challenges they had no idea how they would face or overcome by themselves. The women of the west books do not follow a single character like many of her book series and can be read in any order one prefers. The books do however, remain in the sitting of the pioneer era describing the challenges and how life was like during those times. They also continue to show how women of all ages and status overcame challenges even when they had thought to give up over a dozen times. However, one should make it their aim to make sure they have completed the reading of all the books in the series because not only are they interesting but they also give the individual reading the morale to conquer challenges, to remain calm and focused towards the goals they intend to reach.

The Calling of Emily Evans is the first book in the series of women in the west. It follows the story of Emily Evans a woman who has felt God nudging her towards opening a church in her area. At first she does not really understand why God would want her to do this beginning with the fact that she is a young single woman who is yet to discover the purpose of her life. In her mind Emily thinks about how she could possibly open a church and teach while she can barely get herself to class on time- this to her is quiet simply put, impossible. Just when she is almost shrugging it as a thought, she feels God telling her to be in the ministry fulltime. This time she does no really fight it. A woman of her age wants to marry and share this God given task with her man, she however does not want to be the wife of any of the available young men in her area so she just finds herself opening the church on her own as she is all she has.

She carries her burden and goes to the local church only to find it in very bad shape. She works for many days trying to get it fixed and in good shape for people to attend services. After working for many days, she finally announces her first service on the upcoming Sunday. To her disappointment, the turn out is very small. The people do no really believe in the existence of God. Will her faith be strong enough to get her through this challenge? Will she find a way to make the congregation believe, like her, that God is real and that He does work wonders? With the challenges of provision for herself and he low turnout, will she still believe that the call was a Godly one?

In her next book in the Women of the west series, Mrs. Oke tells the tale of one Julia Harrigan. A western educated woman, a wife and a mother of twin daughters.They live in Calder springs where the main source of employment for many people is a local timber mill. The timber mill is unfortunately closed and many people in the town relocate to find a means of livelihood and jobs in other towns. Because they love their beautiful home, the Harrigan family decides to stay. Julia feels it within herself a call from God telling her to find a way to bring business back to the community. With this call, she urges the other remaining people to stay and help her find a way to help them. Julia’s husband john also lost his job when the mill closed and the financial situation is her home is not a very good one.

The lack of money and her new call to help the community bring a serious strain on her family and even threatens her marriage, which she thought could overcome anything. Julia finds herself in the middle of a rock and a hard place. Will she be able to save her marriage in time? Will she be able to find a suitable business that will help her people keep food on their tables and clothes on their bodies? Will she revive the life in her town and most importantly is the only thing she has, faith in God, enough to help her through?

The women of the west books bring a person to a stand still, thinking and putting themselves in the situation of the main characters. They bring a person to think of similar situations in their own life and find solutions instead of just living with the problems and getting used to them.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Women of the West

Leave a Reply