Book Notification

World of Hetar Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of World of Hetar Books

Lara (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Distant Tomorrow (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twilight Lord (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sorceress of Belmair (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow Queen (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crown of Destiny (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

The World of Hetar series is a series of romance novels written by the New York Times Bestselling and award winning American author Bertrice Small. The series is comprised of a total of 6 books published between the years 2005 and 2010. All the novels of the series feature the main character in the form of Lara. As the series progresses, it is seen that Lara gets sold into slavery by her father and stepmother. Her father intended to buy some new clothes and armor with the money from selling Lara, so that he could try his luck to become a knight. Lara very well understands the poor situation of her family and so she does not ask any questions to her father and remains cool with them. She also knows that she is the only valuable thing that her father has and by selling her, he could earn a few days of livelihood for himself and Lara’s stepmother. After a little while Lara comes to know that her mother was a fairy who had seduced her father and then left him and Lara after her birth. It appears that Lara is destined to become a prostitute, however, things do not unfold as they were expected to. Lara’s parents come to know that she could not be sold as she was too perfect in every sense to become a prostitute. Her external features were so sensual and appealing that the buyers thought all the customers will begin to fight for her after seeing her once and they will ruin everything in their quest to have her in their lives. The author has also described all the people of Lara’s world were having the same taste in women, they all preferred blondes. When she goes out on a journey to be bought by someone else at a distant place, something unusual happens with her.

The character of Lara has been described by the author in a very sensual way. She seems to be perfect in each and every sense. Author Bertrice Small has done her characterization as a beautiful, diplomatic, smart, and wise. She is said to be a shrewd bargainer and possesses a perfect sense of fashion. As she grows up, she learns the lessons of life very well and becomes successful in mastering all the skills required to live a safe and sound life in her world. Other characteristics of Lara include, having the power of fairy birth control, expert swordsman, ability to do shape shifting, able to lit a fire by just looking at the woods, and a whole lot of other divine power. In the later parts of the novels of the series, she comes to be known by everyone around her as a half human and half faerie. All the people around her find her to be stunningly beautiful and wish to obtain her in their lives. Lara also has a faerie protector, who guides her in her attempt to find her true destiny. While doing so, she gets involved in a series of beautiful adventures and comes across many lovers. Finally, she reaches arrives in Outlands and comes to know that her destiny is to help the people over there in the ongoing war against the Hetar, which is her homeland. The author has written the plots of the novels of the series in a very interesting and simple way. Bertrice Small does not let anyone know that it is her first attempt to shift from the romance genre to the fantasy genre. The way she has developed the characters of the series, it is unbelievable to know she lacked the experience as an author of fantasy novels at the start of the series.

One of the initial novels of the series was published by the Harlequin Books publishing house in the year 2006. It was titled ‘A Distant Tomorrow’. The plot of the novel revolves around the lives of the main character Lara, Magnus Hauk, and John Swiftsword. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the author has described the Winter War between the Hetar and Outlands, to which 5 years have passed. One of the characters of the novel, Gaius Prospero has not given up his dream of becoming the emperor. Lara gets involved in an unexpected tragedy that causes her to pull her destiny. Soon, she finds herself in secret world which is known as Terah. While being across the sea, she comes to know that her abilities are growing great as the days are passing. And with the help of her new powers, Lara takes away an ancient curse from the lives of the people of Terah. Due to this, the ruler of Terah sends her gratitude and his passionate and deep love. Magnus Hauk had never met a woman like Lara in his life, who was way more sensual and beautiful from all the women he has seen till now. His fascination for the love of Lara takes him to back across the sea along with Lara in order to prevent one more war. On reaching there, he comes to know that betrayal is witnessed at each step across the sea and nothing is as beautiful as it seems in the sinister world of Hetar. Magnus and Lara attract the cruel emperor Prospero, who seems to be a dangerous enemy.

One of the other initial novel of the World of Hetar series written by author Bertrice Small was published by the Harlequin Books publishing house in the year 2007. It was titled ‘The Twilight Lord’ and continued to feature the main characters, Lara, John Swiftsword, and Magnus Hauk. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Lara, who has become the Domina of Terah, disappears mysteriously while on her journey to the New Outlands. The Dominus, Magnus Hauk, becomes very desperate to find her beloved wife. When he could not find her anywhere, he turns to two of his strong allies, Ilona, his mother-in-law who is the most powerful among the faerie queens, and Prince Kaliq of the Shadows. On the other hand, The Twilight Lord, Kol reveals after his victory in the Dark Lands that he has the possession of the beautiful and powerful Lara. He has the intention of using her immense powers to conquer Hetar and Terah. But, the emperor of Hetar seems to be planning his own schemes after learning about the disappearance of Lara from Terah. He knows that Terah will be vulnerable without Lara, and in order to make use of the opportunity, he decides to go to war against Hauk.

Book Series In Order » Characters » World of Hetar

Leave a Reply