Book Notification

Yakima Henry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Yakima Henry Books

The Lonely Breed (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Thunder Riders (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wild Breed (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Breed (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Savage Breed (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dangerous Dawn (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bullet for a Half-Breed (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revenge at Hatchet Creek (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead River Killer (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Canyon (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Man's Trail (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ambush at Apache Pass (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Redemption Trail (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of the Horsetooth Widow (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloody Arizona (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wildcat of the Sierra Estrada (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chiricahua Blues (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Canyon of Death (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stripped and Branded (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Yakima Henry” series by Peter Brandvold (writing under his Frank Leslie pen name) is about a a half white, half Indian man named Yakima Henry. Because of his background, he does not feel that he belongs with either the whites or the Indians. He also has a hard time finding work, and has to take anything that he can find. He just wants to raise his horses so that he can sell them and make some money. Yakima finds himself in situations, throughout the novels, where he must save a damsel in distress. And in so doing, putting a lot of pressure on him to keep both him and the woman alive. He does not seem to do it out of some quid pro quo, you scratch my back and I will scratch yours set up that requires the woman sleep with him, but simply to help someone in need get out of the trouble that they find themselves in. Simply because of that golden rule of treating others the way that you would want to be treated.

The series is another example of Brandvold’s expert ability to write about the life of someone who lived in the old west times and write very interesting story lines.

This series of novels are from the western genre and is meant for people who can handle mature material. These books are very violent, there is a lot of swearing, and there is some sexual content that may not be for everyone.

“The Lonely Breed” is the first book in the “Yakima Henry” series by Frank Leslie and was released in 2007. Yakima Henry considers himself lucky that he has any job at all, even if it is sweeping up in the whorehouse in town. Four guys come in and try to cut on one of the women who work in the brothel, and Yakima responds in kind by carving them with his Arkansas Toothpick. Now he is supposed to protect the girl and has to go on the run from a bounty hunter, known for his viciousness.

Fans of the novel liked the book for the roughness that the book has with lots of profanity, graphic violence, and strong sexual stuff. They like the way the author does not sugar coat the violence that went on in the old west, finding that he is able to capture the reality of living way back then. Readers loved how much fun the books are and could not wait for the next installment in the series. Some fans loved the escapism quality to these novels and how much you can just dive right in and get absorbed in the story and just forget all the things that are going on in their everyday lives.

Some readers did not like the novel and found all the sex, at least the way it was depicted to be quite silly. They said it was with men with long flowing hair and narrow waists and mountains of muscle with beautiful whores. Some did not quite understand the point of the entire novel.

“The Thunder Riders” is the second book in the “Yakima Henry” series by Frank Leslie and was released in 2007. After leaving his ranch located in the White Mountains looking for supplies, Yakima Henry rode into a gunfight between a random gang of banditos that just got done robbing a stagecoach and Saber Creek townsfolk. Wolf, Yakima’s prized stallion, is stolen by the banditos, they also take a beautiful saloon girl. It was fine that they stole from the stagecoach, but when they took his horse, that really got him riled up.

Fans of the novel were entertained by the novel, and look forward to future work of Leslie’s. They also felt that the ending had a nice twist to it. Fans loved the characters for how hardened and how much color they provide the story. Fans liked the way Leslie gives his readers an insight to what it is like to fit in to a society, any society, no matter what your background is. Some also found that these books also are a great counter to those books that try to make the old west seem like a wonderful world that we should all want to go back to.

Some found the novel to be just violence and sex, with little to no redeeming quality whatsoever in the novels. These seem to be like bodice rippers, but for men. Some also did not like all of the typos that were in the book.

“The Wild Breed” is the third book in the “Yakima Henry” series by Frank Leslie and was released in 2008. Yakima Henry rides again and this time it is to help an old flame. This old girlfriend of Yakima’s needs him to travel to Mexico to save her brother and get him out of a Mexican prison. On the way, he must get through Apaches who want to kill anyone that they come across, Rurales who want anyone’s scalp they can get, and revolutionaries who are very zealous.

Fans of the novel enjoyed how great this novel stood up to the others and how it offered a full story. Some liked the way it served as a change of pace for them from what they normally read and was a great old fashioned western that kept them reading all night and all day long. They just could not put it down but still could not wait to hear more about this fascinating western character. Fans found that even if they did not read westerns, or any books for that matter, that they could not help but read these very wonderful books that do a great job of talking about characters living in the olden days. And also how they were able to make things, build things, and simply what the requirements were to get places or do things. They enjoyed Leslie’s ability to write interesting story lines, even though it is in a western.

Some readers did not like the novel and felt that it featured too much wild west elements for them and it was off putting for them. Some still found problems with the way the novel insists on showing the characters swearing, having sex all the time, and being very violent in the novels. Some found that that sort of thing is okay for some, but it is not their cup of tea.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Yakima Henry

2 Responses to “Yakima Henry”

  1. Judy: 3 years ago

    Let him return to Julia and find his son with her and settle down with and NOT Emma

  2. BennyBracamonte: 3 years ago

    I really enjoyed the Yakima Henry series,I’m not sure if I’ve read all of them. Also I’ve started reading the Lou Prophet series.


Leave a Reply