Book Notification

Year-Round Christmas Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Year-Round Christmas Mysteries Books

Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Wish You a Murderous Christmas (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hark the Herald Angels Slay (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Night, Deadly Night (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying in a Winter Wonderland (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Have Yourself a Deadly Little Christmas (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Vicki Delany is a published author of fiction. She also writes using the pen name Eva Gates for her Lighthouse Library series.

Vicki is a Canadian author and one of the most varied and prolific crime writers in the country. She also has been a best-selling author in the neighboring United States. She has written several books in different genres, everything from novellas for adult literacy to police procedurals, gothic thriller stories, and historical fiction.

She also is known for writing her cozy mystery series, which include the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop series, the Tea by the Sea mystery series, her Catskill Resort mysteries, and the Lighthouse Library series using pseudonym Eva Gates.

Delany has been part of the Crime Writers of Canada, serving as a president in the past. She also is the organizer and co-founder of the Women Killing It Crime Writing Festival. She has seen her work be nominated for various accolades and awards, including the Arthur Ellis Awards, the Ontario Library Association Golden Oak, the Derringer, and the Bony Blithe. She received the Derrick Murdoch Award in 2019 for the contributions she has made to the genre of crime writing in Canada. She currently resides in Ontario in Prince Edward County.

Vicki started off writing in her career as a mostly Sunday writer. She was a single mother at the time, working full-time as a computer programmer while also raising her three daughters. Every so often, she would have a Sunday afternoon to herself. She would treasure that time, putting on a candle on the desk for atmosphere, playing Bruce Springsteen, and enjoying a cup of tea or nice glass of wine by her side as she wrote.

Years went on, and the author’s daughters eventually left the nest. This gave the author more time than she had previously to give to her writing. As such, she was able to pen three suspense novels that were set in Ontario and finish them. Two of them were published by the Arizona publishing company Poisoned Pen Press, her novels Scare the Light Away and Burden of Memory.

Vicki was able to retire early from her systems analyst job at a big bank in 2007. She was able to then sell her house in Ontario. Around that time, her first police procedural series book In the Shadow of the Glacier was published, which took place in British Columbia. She took some time after leaving her job to travel around North America with her dog for a year. After that, she purchased a home in Prince Edward County in Ontario. There she no longer constantly wears a watch (rarely if ever) and is able to write whenever the urge strikes her. She’s continued to write more books, expanding into different sub-genres and penning books for adults that have lower literacy skills.

Vicki Delany is the creator and author of the Year-Round Christmas Mysteries series. This fun series came out in 2015 with the publication of the first book in the series, Rest Ye Murdered Gentleman. The second book came out in 2016 and is titled We Wish You a Murderous Christmas. This was followed by the release of the third novel in 2017, titled Hark the Herald Angels Slay. The fourth novel followed in 2019, called Silent Night, Deadly Night. The fifth novel came out in 2020 and is called Dying in a Winter Wonderland.

Rest Ye Murdered Gentleman is the first novel in the Year-Round Christmas Mysteries series by Vicki Delany. If you have been looking for a fun holiday mystery series to enjoy, you are in luck! Check out this debut in an enjoyable series from the always engaging Vicki Delany.

When it comes to a place like Rudolph, New York, it’s a location that enjoys the spirit of Christmas all year long. It makes sense, and the town even shares a name with everyone’s favorite red-nosed reindeer. Now it’s December once more, the official month of Christmas. But while the streets of the area may be covered in snow and all may appear merry and bright, no one suspects that an impending murder might have the power to take away everyone’s holiday cheer.

Merry Wilkinson is handling all of the holiday rush. She’s the owner of a holiday shop called Mrs. Claus’s Treasures. She knows a thing or two when it comes to decorating homes to celebrate the holidays. She even has a float that is going to be entered in the annual Santa Calus parade in Rudolph that she believes could be the winner of the best in show award. She’s excited to see how the float does and is looking forward to the parade.

Then she finds out that the tractor that is supposed to pull her float has been sabotaged. She’s upset, and now knows for a fact that somewhere out there in Rudolph is a good old-fashioned Scrooge. Whether the sabotage has been deliberately to hurt her chances specifically or is just an act of anti-holiday cheer, she has no idea.

Merry doesn’t know who did this, so she’s not going to single out anyone. Particularly with a journalist around who’s putting together a piece about the holiday spirit in town. She doesn’t want to make the town look bad. She is further surprised when going on a late-night outing walking her dog and finds a reporter’s lifeless body.

Worse, police think he was poisoned by a gingerbread cookie that he closest friend Vicky made. Merry is determined to find out who is behind this terrible deed, knowing it wasn’t Vicky but working to clear her name. Can she prove that Vicky was not behind this before she’s put on the official naughty list? Read this mystery to find out!

We Wish You a Murderous Christmas is the second novel in the Year-Round Christmas Mysteries series by Vicky Delany. If you liked the first mystery in this series, read on!

Someone’s being a grinch in town and spreading fear instead of cheer. Rudolph, New York is a town that celebrates Christmas all year round. As the actual holiday gets closer, Merry Wilkinson is relaxing at the Yuletide Inn. There she encounters Grace and Jack Olsen, the owners. Jack’s not doing so well in terms of health, so Merry is happy to hear that their son Gord will be running the inn from day-to-day instead.

The only issue is that Gord does not plan for having Christmas celebrated at the inn. Merry starts to get worried that a bland hotel could affect her livelihood, as are other shopkeepers and owners in the area. They don’t have much time to worry as Gord is discovered dead, stabbed to death.

With all of Rudolph being suspect, Merry is going to have to find out who the evil grinch is that would kill such a nice young man. Can she discover who’s brought homicide to the holidays before they strike again? Will the killer be brought to justice? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Year-Round Christmas Mysteries

Leave a Reply