Book Notification

Young Elites Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Young Elites Books

The Young Elites (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rose Society (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midnight Star (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Young Elites book series is a wonderful series of young adult and fantasy stories. It is written by a renowned American writer of young adult novels named Marie Lu. The series began in 2014 and comprised of 3 books up to 2016. Marie Lu has set this series in a Renaissance-like world that is filled with magic. The magic described by the author is chaotic, new, and misunderstood. A battle to take control of the power is being fought between 3 rival societies in this world. While the chaotic battle is going on, a girl rises to become a fearsome leader, sparking war and igniting panic between 7 nations. Several essential characters created by Marie Lu for this series include Adelina Amouteru, Enzo Valenciano, Violetta Amouteru, Teren Santoro, Raffaele Laurent Bessette, Dante, Michel, Lucent, Gemma, Salvatore, and a few others. Adelina Amouteru is the central character of the series. She is 16 years old and a malfetto.

Following her mother’s death, she is raised by her abusive and cruel father. Adelina ends up killing her father accidentally when he tries to sell her off. She gets captured and is sentenced to be burned alive. The Dagger Society saves her and raises her as their own. Adelina Amouteru undergoes training under the guidance of the group leader Enzo Valenciano. The training makes Adelina realize that her powers linked to anger and fear. Shortly after, she grows her powers of illusion. Adelina is quite protective of her younger sister Violetta Amouteru. When Teren Santoro threatens to take the life of Violetta, Adelina finds herself torn between bad conscience and fear.

The debut book of the Young Elites series written by author Marie Lu is entitled ‘The Young Elites’ It was released by the G.P. Putnam publication in 2014. Marie Lu has set this novel in a world known by the name Kenettra. This novel follows Adelina Amouteru’s story from being a normal girl to a fearsome leader. A decade ago, an illness had spread throughout Kenettra. Most of the people perished except several children, who found that they had developed strange markings on their bodies. The ones whose markings were visible were called ‘malfettos’. Later, the people around malfettos and their family member started to die in strange accidents, thereby, forcing the people to believe that malfettos were bad luck. However, people did not realize that the malfettos were gifted with extraordinary abilities. Such children with special gifts went on to be called Young Elites. One of the survivors of the illness is Adelina Amouteru. Her color has turned silver and she has lost one eye. Adelina’s harsh and abusive tries to exploit her abilities.

One night, while trying to escape, she murders her father with her special powers. As a result, the Inquisition Axis, a group of evils, orders for her execution. But, she is mysteriously saved by an Elites group called Dagger Society. Initially, it seems that the Society’s leader, Enzo Valenciano, has saved Adelina out of kindness. But, it later learned that Enzo has his own motives. Enzo is also a malfetto like Adelina and when his sister found out about it, she removed him from the throne. A duke who married Enzo’s sister became the king. Now, Enzo wants to overthrow the king and reclaim the throne for protecting the malfettos. As the story nears its end, Adelina and Enzo begin to fall in love with each other.

The second volume of the series is known as ‘The Rose Society’. It was also published by GP Putnam in. The book opens by mentioning that Adelina Amouteru has suffered heartbreaks at the hands of her close friends and family members, who forced her to follow the course of revenge. Now, she has become the White Wolf, whom everyone fears. Adelina moves out of Kenettra to look for other malfettos and build an army of her own. After building a huge army, she intends to attack the Inquisition Axis and destroy them. Adelina’s powers grow so much that they become uncontrollable. The situation takes an ugly turn when she starts distrusting the newfound malfetto friends.

Inquisition’s leader Teren Santoro, wants to kill Adelina and all those who are associated with her in her mission. The Dagger Society and Raffaele try to stop Adelina from going down the path of destruction, but they find it very difficult to make her realize what she is doing is wrong. Adelina Amouteru struggles to hold on to the good values and wonders how she can remain good for long when her existence is filled with darkness. This novel turned out to be yet another heart-pounding adventure with exciting twists and turns. It entertained the readers just like the previous novel and went on to become widely successful.

Marie Lu is a popular American author of dystopian, young adult, fantasy, and adult fiction novels. She is particularly famous for writing the Legend trilogy series, Warcross series, DC Icons series, and Young Elites novel series. Marie was born as Xiwei Lu in Wuxi, Jiangsu, China on July 11, 1984. When she was small, her parents moved to Beijing, where she attended primary school. In 1989, Marie Lu relocated to Texas, the United States with her family when she was just 5 years old. It was the time when the Tiananmen Square Protest was going on. While in the US, she studied at the Southern California University and worked as an intern at the Disney Interactive Studios. Currently, she resides in Los Angles, California. She is happily married and has a son born in 2019.

During her spare time, Marie Lu likes to be in the company of her family members and her pets. Her novels have sold numerous copies all over the world. A few of them are in the talks for being adapted into movies by the Lionsgate production company. Marie Lu says that writing novels is her hobby and passion. She has a special place in her heart for dystopian stories. Prior to entering the field of novel writing and establishing herself as a full-time writer, she worked as an Art Director in a company that created video games. Now, Marie Lu enjoys being a writer and being able to manage her life and work balance. She looks forward to writing many more exciting books in the times to come and hopes to become more successful.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Young Elites

Leave a Reply