Book Notification

Young Wizards Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Young Wizards Books

So You Want to Be a Wizard (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep Wizardry (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
High Wizardry (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wizard Abroad (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wizard's Dilemma (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wizard Alone (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wizard's Holiday (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wizards at War (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wizard of Mars (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not On My Patch (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lifeboats (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
How Lovely Are Thy Branches (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Games Wizards Play (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Ordeal: Mamvish fsh Wimsih (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Ordeal: Roshaun ke Nelaid (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Interim Errantry Books

Interim Errantry (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Interim Errantry 2: On Ordeal (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Young Wizards book series are a set of ten books that are written by the American science fiction and fantasy writer Diane Duane. She wrote the first book in the year 1983 and is still churning out more of the novels to date.

Kit Rodriguez and Nita Callahan are the central characters featured in the “Young Wizards” book series by Diane Duane. The first novel in the Young Wizards series that features Kit and Nita was first written in the United States of America in 1982 and is called So You Want to Be a Wizard. The book was later published in 1983. In the year 2012, a New Millennium edition of the book So You Want to Be a Wizard was published.

The book series belongs to the science fiction and fantasy genre.

There is a total of 10 books in the Young Wizards series to date. In the Young Wizards book series, the topical issues that are part of the novels include religion, sacrifice, death and redemption.

The Young Wizards book series basically follow the adventures of an interesting teenage duo, Kit, and Nita, who happen to be wizards. In the Young Wizards book series, the duo is often pitted against their nemesis in the form of the Lone Power. The Lone Power is an entity that belongs to a larger evil group known as the Powers That Be. The Lone Power is bent on the destruction of the entire universe.

The Young Wizards book series takes Kit and Nita through a series of interesting adventures where they encounter many strange characters in a fantasy universe.

As the Young Wizards book series begins, Kit and Nita happen to be a couple of young adults. As the book series progresses, the duo is tasked with a great, responsible role. They turn out to be the protectors of their universe as they know it. The richness and variety in the way the stories are told in the novels are interesting and gripping.


The first novel in the Young Wizards series, So You Want to Be a Wizard introduces us to the central characters, Nita Callahan and Kit Rodriguez. Basically, the first book introduces readers top the central characters, Nita and Kit.

The book begins by detailing the experiences of Nita Callahan, an ordinary 13-year-old teenage girl. She has a normal teenage upbringing that is punctuated with encounters with bullies at her school. Then her life suddenly takes a different turn when she discovers a strange book that claims that she can become a wizard.

Nita Callahan happens to discover a strange book that is named So You Want to Be a Wizard. Incidentally, the first book in the Young Wizards book series is named after this book.

Nita skeptically reads the book in which she discovers that it claims that she can actually become a wizard if she follows some steps that are detailed within. Nita does not believe what the book claims.

In spite her reservations about what the wizard’s manual claims, she goes ahead and experiments. Nita takes the Wizard’s Oath which is detailed in the book, So You Want to Be a Wizard. What happens next is a series of interesting roller coaster adventures in strange, fantastic settings.

The following day, Nita tries out her first wizard’s spell from the Wizard’s manual. As she tries out her debut spell, readers are introduced to the other central character in the form of Kit Rodriguez, a wizard. Together, the duo goes through the motions of completing the spell together. It actually works and Nita’s teenage world changes as she becomes a wizard.

Her adventures begin when she encounters the Lone Power, an entity that hates wizardry and anything to do with it. Incidentally, it is the Lone Power that is responsible for inventing the concept of death and letting it loose. The duo’s adventures are set in the alternate world of New York where they are tasked with finding a lost book.


High Wizardry is the third novel in the Young Wizards book series. It was published in 1990.

In this book, Dairine, Nita’s younger sister chances upon a copy of the Wizard’s manual that was discovered by Nita earlier on. She decides to go ahead and take the Wizard’s Oath herself. Once she takes the oath, Dairine is given the Wizard’s Manual in the form of a computer. She takes things in stride and names her newfound computer companion, Spot.

Dairine decides to use her newfound powers in wizardry to travel to the planet Mars. After her trip to Mars, she proceeds on to a planetary area known as Crossings.

While Dairine is in Crossings, she is attacked by agents of the Lone Power. She manages to escape to an interesting planet where everything is made out of silicon.

Meanwhile, back at home, her sister, Nita, and Kit discover that Dairine is missing. The duo takes it upon them to begin searching for Dairine.

As the search begins, Dairine wakes up from her stupor and finds herself on a strange planet. She meets strange silicon characters known as “mobiles”. Dairine begins naming these mobiles after characters from the Star Wars franchise and computer games.

As Dairine is getting cozy with her newfound friends, the Lone Power manages to turn a group of mobiles against her. Kit and Nita arrive just in time. The duo is accompanied by an unlikely ally in the form of Machu Picchu, a macaw. They manage to defeat the Lone Power by stopping the universe from expanding.

The defeated Lone Power goes back home to the Powers That Be. As the lone Power leaves, it tells Nita and Kit to ensure that they destroy any of his shadows that remain behind on the planet. At this point, the universe continues expanding and Kit, Nita, and Dairine go back home. On reaching home, Dairine’s computer Spot happens to grow some legs and is able to climb up the stairs.



The Young Wizards book series makes an excellent basis for science fiction or fantasy movies or TV series. However, none of the books in the Young Wizards book series have been made into any series for the silver screen or movies for that matter.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Young Wizards

Leave a Reply