Book Notification

Yukito Ayatsuji Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Another Light Novel Books

Another, Volume 1 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Another Episode S / 0 (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Another 2001 (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Another Manga Books

Another Omnibus (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Decagon House Murders Manga Books

The Decagon House Murders, Vol. 1 (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Decagon House Murders, Vol. 2 (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Decagon House Murders, Vol. 3 (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Decagon House Murders, Vol. 4 (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Decagon House Murders, Vol. 5 (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of House Murders Books

The Decagon House Murders (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mill House Murders (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Speculative Japan 3: Silver Bullet and Other Tales of Japanese Science Fiction and Fantasy(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Yukito Ayatsuji is the pseudonym of Japanese author Naoyuki Uchida best known for his horror and mystery fiction.

The author was born in 196o and went to Kyoto University where he graduated from the Faculty of Education. He would then move to the Graduate School of Education for his doctoral program and debuted as an author before he even graduated.

While he was in college, he was a member of the Kyoto University Mystery Club. The club has over the years been credited with nurturing many crime writers. This was an organization that had given itself to promoting Golden Age-inspired fair play mysteries.
It was from this that he got the inspiration for “The Decagon House Murders.” The novel which was her debut work was deemed a landmark crime fiction work in Japan as it revived the conventional puzzle format in mystery and was the inspiration for many a new generation of authors.

The novel would become a bestseller that would be his first to be translated into English. He would later on become a founder of the “Honkaku Mystery Writers Club of Japan.”

Ayatsuji has said that she has always been interested in puzzle mysteries ever since he read the early novels by Ellery Queen aged eleven. He was fascinated by the logical quality of the work and many of the unexpected conclusions that he was hooked.
When he was a sixth grader in elementary school, he had read enough books that he thought that he should try writing and becoming an author. He bought a lot of paper abnd buried himself in writing anything that came into his mind.

Yukito Ayatsuji used to bring his many writing to his classes and during the school breaks he would read them to his classmates. His classmates loved his stories and he was encouraged to continue writing.

Since he had gained quite a reputation he kept writing even if only to keep his friends and classmates happy. He started thinking of one day becoming a renowned author since he had always dreamed of writing mystery one day.
He continued writing in college and once he published his debut novel in 2013 there was no going back.

He now has at least half a dozen novels to his name and has become one of the most popular authors in Japan with a growing reputation in the English-speaking world where his translated novels have been published.

In recent times, Yukito Ayatsuji has made his name advocating for the restoration of classic rules in mystery and detective fiction that makes use of more self-reflective elements.
He is now best known for the “Another” series of novels that has also become very popular once they were translated into English.

The author is currently married to Fuyumi Ono the author of the manga “The Twelve Kingdoms” and the creator of “Juuni Kokuki.”

Yukito Ayatsuji’s novel “Another” is a thrilling horror manga fiction work that tells the story of a high school class that is haunted.

The class assignment and actual grade are haunted and they seem to have been cursed. Students are in dread of being placed in the class as it usually results in death which no one can figure out how to stop.
The faculty and students have been applying a set of bizarre superstitions to protect themselves. They believe that by doing so they can avoid death under mysterious and sudden circumstances.

According to lore, the best way of preventing deaths is to pretend that some student is non-existent so that the ghost can be in the class without affecting the headcount.

For several months, this has been very effective but then a nice boy just being himself becomes very friendly to a girl that is supposed to be ignored.

Soon after, the deaths are back in full swing and everyone is afraid and at a loss about what they need to do to stop them.

It is all about conformity and superstition as the faculty and students fear breaking traditional rules given that there will be severe consequences for that.

“Another Episode S” by Yukito Ayatsuji tells the story of a twenty-something-old student named Sakaki Tetsuya who is acquainted with Misaki Mei.

The two had met when Mei was on holiday with her parents. During that summer when Mei had gone on vacation, her class 3-3 of Yomi Utara was being terrorized by a bizarre phenomenon.

Sakaki is Middle School senior in Yomiyama and she thinks maybe he could help her decipher the bizarre happenings. It happens that a few years earlier there had been a disaster in their town and this had forced Sakaki and his father to leave as they ran away from the curse.
She was hoping Sakaki would help her given that he has experience in such matters but unfortunately, he loses his body and memory and now needs Mei’s help in finding his body. The only thing she can find is her ghost but his ghost insists that he needs to find his body.
It is then that the two embark on a quest to find Sakaki’s memory and his body which results in a psychological mystery told from the first-person perspective of Sakaki the ghost.

“Another 2001” is the story of fourteen-year-old Sou Hiratsuka who is a boy that has had a very difficult life. He is now a middle schooler studying at a North Yomi cursed classroom.

According to legend, a young man had died there in 1972, and rather than accepting that he was dead, his teacher and classmates pretended that he was still alive.

By refusing to come to terms with his death, the dead student which they have nicknamed “Calamity” has come back to haunt them.

Every few years, they have an extra student in their classes who proceeds to exact vengeance for not letting go of their fellow dead student.

His vengeance is all about killing some students and several of their families suing some terrifying and gruesome accidents.

Mei and Sou are determined to ensure that the ghost does not get to them. But the ghost is also determined to ensure that it fulfills its mission of revenge no matter what.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Yukito Ayatsuji

Leave a Reply