Jonathon King Books In Order

Publication Order of Max Freeman Books

The Blue Edge of Midnight (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Visible Darkness (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadow Men (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Killing Night (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Acts of Nature (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Midnight Guardians (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Don't Lose Her (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Eye of Vengeance (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Styx (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Jonathon king is an award winning author and the sole creator of the popular Max Freeman Crime series which is set in the Everglades as well as on the hard streets of urban south Florida. Mr. King served as a policeman and a reporter of the court for more than twenty four years working with Sun sentinel in Fort Lauderdale and the high profiling Philadelphia daily news respectively.

Over the years, Mr. King has taken his creativity a notch high by cannibalizing his previous news writing career Turing it into an interesting crime novel series which by the way is his main focus at the moment. Jonathon attributes the creativity and quality of his writing to his experience on dozens of crime scenes, several hours spent in courtrooms, days spent in Florida prison (as a guest) and previous interviews of top cops, crime victims, criminals and their syndicates as well as traumatized family members of crime victims.

In addition to the above, Mr. king admits to having witnessed several autopsies, riding in the back seat of a police patrol car in the course of a high speed chase, having a gun pressed to his head after being mistaken to be a drug dealer by an undercover cop as well as sitting in a bar and witnessing a midget cocaine dealer lick barbeque sauce off his short fingers while negotiating the sale of around 6kg amongst other things.

Mr. King also admits of spending two months alone in a cabin up north (North Carolina) back in 2000 hiding out to write the manuscript for the Blue Edge of midnight which ended up winning the 2002 Edgar Allan Poe Award as the best First Mystery Novel by an American author. As strange as it may sound, after writing three more novels in his hit series, Mr. King decided to quit journalism. Good news is, he presently serves as a full time writer in Florida. So far so good, his latest piece dubbed “Midnight guardians” is his latest installment in his Freeman Series. It is different from the rest of the installments in the sense that he set it in his beloved Everglades which is where he canoes, airboats and even tromps on a regular basis.

An overview of “Don’t lose her” by Jonathon king

King takes readers into the world of a US district judge Diane Manchester who in this installment is set to preside over the extradition hearing of a notorious Colombian drug lord while pregnant and at the same time expected to not to show the slightest sign of weakness as this could end up jeopardizing the biggest trial of her career and result into the release of a vicious murderer.

The judge’s situation turns for the worst when she is grabbed off the streets into a van and threatened with death with absolutely no clue who her kidnappers are and what they want. Fortunately Diane’s captors seemed to have overlooked a crucial detail: her husband, Billy who doubles up as the employer and best friend of Max freeman: A Philadelphia based cop turned private investigator. Freeman sets out with the sole intention of finding out which one of a rogue gallery of suspects have grabbed Diane and also to save her soon to be born child before it is too late.

An overview of “Midnight Guardians” by Jonathon king

Max is in the middle of investigating a conspiracy which involves corrupt cops and at the same time a drug kingpin from his past is on his trail prompting him to fight to save what he loves the most “detective sherry Richards” his girlfriend. Trawling the trailer parks and waterways of south Florida, max realizes that amid the stunning beaches and abundant foliage lies an astounding range of brutality. This comes after he is hired to investigate a conspiracy which involves fake Medicare claims in which he notices that the scheme is way more dangerous than anyone anticipated.

An Overview of the: “THE STYX” by Jonathon king

Mr. King made this installment a powerful novel based on greed, murder and conspiracy setting it in the turn of the century Palm Beach. More specifically, Jonathon made amazingly brings Styx as a historical novel which perfectly brings to life the true frenzy of reconstruction – era witnessed in Florida including the radical tensions which simmered right underneath as well as the events which changed a single community forever.

An Overview of “Acts of Nature” by Jonathon king

Mr. King must have put some serious thought onto this installment. Max and detective sherry Richards who initially were craving some alone time find themselves caught up in a nightmare after a violent hurricane rips through South of Florida in the process obliterating everything in its path. Things take a turn for the worst after sherry sustains an injury yet they have no way to call for assistance. This however is the least of their worries as their isolation and trip back to civilization is threatened by an invasion of undesirables some looking to protect secrets while others are simply out to loot with them caught in between. They are left with no option but to escape the elements before it is too late.

In addition to the above, other equally interesting titles by Jonathon king include: Eye of vengeance, killing night, shadow men, visible darkness and the blue edge of midnight. All these writing installments are unique in their own way confirming the fact that Jonathon king has mastered the art of writing. This coupled with his experience over the years interacting with cops and criminals is what makes his work truly captivating. Having seen it all, what better way there is than to share his experiences in the real world with curious readers looking forward to well written crime series that is unpredictable all the way. Everything taken into consideration, it is clearly evident that Mr. King’s work as an author can only be summed up as absolutely stunning and characteristic of a whole new level of creativity which the new generation of readers consider very appealing.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jonathon King