Queens of England Books In Order

Publication Order of Queens of England Books

Myself My Enemy aka Loyal in Love (1983) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Queen of This Realm (1985) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Victoria Victorious (1985) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Lady in the Tower (1986) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Courts of Love (1987) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
In the Shadow of the Crown (1988) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Queen's Secret (1989) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Reluctant Queen (1990) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Pleasures of Love aka The Merry Monarch's Wife (1991) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
William's Wife aka The Queen's Devotion (1992) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Rose Without a Thorn (1992) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Victoria Holt was the pen name of Eleanor Hibbert, an English novelist specializing in various genres namely gothic and romantic fiction, and historical fiction. Eleanor Hibbert was birth name was Eleanor Alice Burford. According to popular opinion, Holt was born on September 1, 1906 in the present day London Borough of Newham, London, United Kingdom. However, there are conflicting accounts of the year she was born; some sources cite 1906 while others opine 1910. The author’s private life was shroud in misery as she did not comment on it. She died on January 19, 1993 as a result of accident at sea. Holt was aboard the Sea Princess during the time of her death; the cruise ship embarked on an ill-fated voyage and she died at an area nestled between Athens, Greece and Port Said City, Egypt.

Victoria Holt is unarguably Plaidy’s commonest pen name, under which she published the Queens of England series. However, she had a laundry list of pseudonyms which varied in the same vein as her works. Holt was alternatively known as Philippa Carr and Jean Plaidy. The genre she wrote determined the pen name under which she published. For instance, she published fictional accounts of monarchies in Europe, as evident in the appropriately named the Queens of England series, using the pen name Jean Plaidy. She adopted the Victoria Holt for her Gothic horror books. In the same context, she used the pseudonym Philippa Carr for family saga fiction.

She had other pseudonyms in different eras. In the formative years of her writing career, during the 1950’s, she used three pen names–Eleanor Burford, Ellalice Tate, Kathleen Kellow, and Eleanor Burford. Other pen names, which she used from the 1960’s, are the famous Victoria Holt and Anna Percival. She created the pen name Philippa Carr later on in her writing life. In her extensive writing career, she used a total of eight pseudonyms. Not surprisingly, her fans who read one novel published under one pseudonym did not notice the other pseudonyms. Holt penned more than 200 books which have been translated into over 20 different European languages, Near Eastern languages, and Asian languages. Under her different pen names, she has sold over 100 million copies over the years since she penned her first book.

Despite the paucity of her private life, it is known that she was home schooled. In her teenage, she attended a business college for vocational training. Shortly thereafter, she worked in a jewellery shop. She also briefly became a language interpreter, interpreting French and German languages especially for tourists. As a young adult, she married fellow bibliophile George Percival Hibbert. Her husband, a businessman dealing with leather, was nearly twice her age. She identified herself her using a pen name partly inspired by husband’s name–the pseudonym Anna Percival.

For her finesse of fifty years of writing experience, a period during which she produced critically-acclaimed novels, she was, in 1989, awarded, most notably, the Golden Treasure award by the Romance Writers of America. A non-profit organization, Romance Writers of America awarded her for her notable and commendable effort of contributing to romance fiction.

Queens of England Series
Queens of England is a serialized fictitious account of European monarchies. Like other works denoting fictional European royalty, the Queens of England series was published under the pen name Jean Plaidy. There is a total of eleven books, and many editions, in this series and which were published between 1983 and 1993.

The following are the first two of Holt’s books in the Queens of England series. The first one, called “Myself, My Enemy”, was first originally published in 1983. The second one is called “Queen of This Realm” and was originally published in 1985. There have been twenty and nineteen subsequent editions of the two series, respectively, from different publishing houses. In all editions, however, the basic story remains the same.

Myself, My Enemy: Queens of England Series
In the first series of Queens of England, “Myself, My Enemy”, the plot of the historical recount revolves around Henrietta Maria of France and the monarch King Charles I of England. Incidentally, Maria also has royal ancestry as she is the child of a monarch on whom regicide was committed, King IV of France. Maria’s religion was, like the rest of her royal family members, Roman Catholicism. On the other hand, King Charles’ religion was Anglican which was in many ways similar to Reformed Protestantism.

Queen Maria marries King Charles I, making her a royal family member in England. The cynosure is her religion. She is a staunch adherent of her religion and refuses to let go of her religion, something that does not augur well for the predominantly strict Protestant England. The people of England have a stereotypical view of Catholics, holding a sneaking suspicion of them. The stereotypical opinion of the English towards Catholics is based on Mary I of England who was given the sobriquet “Bloody Mary” by Protestants who executed her. The English population disdained her for her being a staunch Catholic, gossiping, having great enthusiasm for music, taste for fashion, and beauty. Her husband, King Charles I, was a complete contrast; he was a person of principle and honor, who greatly loved her and their family.

The greatest undoing of their love, though genuine and mutual, was the reason behind their marriage. Queen Maria’s marriage to her was seen as crucial for maintaining cordial and good relations between France and England. However, the English people felt cheated, for she was seen as Rome’s Trojan horse, discreetly trying to convert Protestant English people into Catholic English. This inspired especially the Puritans, who embarked on a mission to “purify” Protestant England from Catholic elements. And for that to be accomplished the carotid vein that was King Charles I had to be cut through, inevitably, regicide.

Queen of This Realm: Queens of England Series
Novelist Jean Plaidy wrote the second book in the Queens of England series, “Queen of This Real”, in a seeming urge to portray it as a memoir. In the same token, this book appears as an autobiographical recount of Queen Elizabeth I of England. The book paints a vivid recount of her as an impressive politician, art enthusiast, and one whose legacy lives on. But she was not with a flip side. To sum it up, bad aspects contained therein are the musings of the unfulfilled aspects of Queen Elizabeth Is life: befogged by childlessness in the wake of her powerful father Henry VIII of England, chagrined by her quest for elusive love to Robert Dudley, hazed by not marrying Dudley, and dazed by the memory of commanding her relative Mary Queen of Scots to be killed.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Queens of England