Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Faye Longchamp Mysteries Books In Order

Publication Order of Faye Longchamp Mysteries Books

Artifacts (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Relics (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Effigies (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Findings (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Floodgates (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Strangers (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plunder (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rituals (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Isolation (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Burials (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Undercurrents (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Catacombs (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Faye Longchamp Mysteries are a series of suspense thrillers written by renowned American author Mary Anna Evans. The first novel published in the series was the highly popular “Artifacts” that Anna Evans first published in 2013. “Artifacts” was one of the author’s most popular novels, and given its widespread popularity, Evans went on to publish several more novels in the series over the following years. Set in the Florida panhandle, the novels follow the life and times of Faye Longchamp, a gritty archeologist that is the lead excavator in a series of digs that often turn into mysterious murder investigations. As an environmental consultant and with an interest in archeology, Anna Evans derives much of her stories from her experiences consulting for companies involved in projects that need her expertise. The series of novels is a combination of archeology, history, and mystery, which makes for very intriguing detective mysteries. Investigating some of the most bizarre and spooky mysteries that come to light from archeological digs, the series of novels involves a range of interesting characters alongside the highly capable amateur sleuth Faye Longchamp. The history of the native people of the United States is a very critical part of the novels as the lead character often puts her career and life in danger to protect ancient, valuable, and irreplaceable artifacts from destruction or adulteration.

The series of novels follows the adventures of amateur sleuth Faye Longchamp. When we are first introduced to the lead protagonist Faye, she is a 34-year-old biracial woman with a passion for archeology. With the series taking place over a period of nearly one and a half decades, Faye ages by about 6 months a year over the course of the series. Over the years, Faye has developed herself by going back to college to get her PhD, dated some of the worst men that a woman could ever date. However, her experiences have also taught her a lot, as she finally finds the perfect man and starts a family with him. Faye is best described as a woman who loves with a full heart. Without hesitation, she will take care of anyone that needs her help, shielding her loved ones from pain. But even with a good heart, she has to acknowledge that it is almost impossible to protect people all the time, particularly when people in her life have a tendency to get into trouble all on their own. Faye herself is not immune to making mistakes in her life though unlike many people in her world, she learns fast and never repeats her mistakes. Over the course of the novels, Faye not only works as an amateur sleuth investigating mysteries but also learns about her own history and the history of the Native American people.

“The Wizard of Oz” was one of the earliest influences for Mary Anna Evans, particularly Dorothy’s independence that very much resembles that of the lead protagonist Longchamp. Mary Anna Evans series of novels are set in the rural American states of Oklahoma, Alabama, and Mississippi among others, where Longchamp is called in investigate or consult on archeological excavations. Faye is a consultant and lead in several archeological digs involving the Native American tribes that often unearth interesting finds. The most intriguing aspects of the novels is the twist that often comes through the finding of either a dead body, the murder of some person such as the chief of the tribe. The spin in the tale often leaves Faye and her sidekick Joe scrambling to determine just who would benefit from the mysterious murders of significant persons in their investigations. Over the course of the series, Faye has to deal not only with the death of her colleagues but also of her boss who are killed in murders linked to dark secrets and custody of important relics that they either had, or were close to finding. Ultimately, the novels are narratives of murder, romance, archeology, and greed.

“Artifacts”, the first novel in the series introduces Faye Longchamp, a quick-witted and determined woman who will do all in her power to hold onto Joyeuse, a Florida panhandle plantation. The story of how Cally, Faye’s great great grandmother a newly freed slave had gotten hold of the plantation after the Civil War, and how the family had held onto it through Jim Crow, the Depression, the World Wards, and the Reconstruction is murky. Now that Faye is the owner of the plantation, she finds that the property taxes have gotten too high for her to sustain. However, there is one thing she could do to save the plantation and the legacy of her family. With the plantation full of artifacts, she sets out to dig for them. She believes the priceless artifacts would get a good price in the black market allowing her to pay off what she owes and make a good living for herself. However, instead of finding arrowheads and potsherds, she stumbles onto the shattered skull of a woman with a Jackie Kennedy like earing near the head. Faye is in a dilemma. If she goes to the police, she risks her illegal artifact digging activities being exposed, which would lead to the loss of Joyeuse and possible jail time. She does not intend to lose the plantation and knows that she has only one option – investigate the murder and history of the woman herself. What she does not know is that the killer still lurks nearby, and is ready to murder anyone that threatens to expose his dark secrets.

“Effigies”, the third novel in the series is an explosive investigative second novel in the Faye Longchamp series of novels. Archeologist Faye Longchamp and her sidekick Joe Wolf Mantooth are in Neshoba Mississippi to work on a sacred site that legend says is the place where the Choctaw nation was born. When the owner of the farm on which the mound is refuses to let them dig, they are frustrated, but he breaks their hearts even further when he ties to bulldoze the relic to nothing. Putting themselves in front of the mound, Faye and Joe are ready to protect history with their bodies. It is not long before the Choctaws arrive on the scene determined to protect their heritage. Soon there is a standoff between the farmer’s neighbors willing to do anything to defend their neighbor’s property rights, versus the rage-filled Choctaw ready to die for their heritage. Things take a turn for the worse when Calhoun a young and popular sheriff gets his throat sliced by a relic stone blade. Given his wanton destruction of property, could the archeologists have killed him, or did someone else have an ulterior motive or old score to settle? With so many people with opportunity, means, and motive, this could be one of the hardest cases to crack.


Book Series In Order » Characters » Faye Longchamp Mysteries