Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Lockwood & Co Books In Order

Publication Order of Lockwood & Co Books

The Screaming Staircase (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Whispering Skull (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dagger in the Desk (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hollow Boy (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Creeping Shadow (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Empty Grave (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Lockwood & Co. Series of novels is a series of fantasy and paranormal novels set in alternate history London, and written by popular British novelist Jonathan Stroud. The first novel in the series was the 2013 published “The Screaming Staircase”, that went on to become a fan favorite almost overnight. Since the publication of the first novel, Stroud has been publishing one novel in the series every year. The lead character in the series of novels is Lucy Carlyle, who joins a Psychic Detection Agency in London, working to fight an epidemic of ghosts. The macabre ghosts stalking the streets of Britain have a touch that brings death to everyone they meet, except for children. Lucy Carlyle new detection agency is one of the smallest of the London agencies that have mushroomed to fight the ghosts. Her agency is run by Anthony Lockwood a man full of charisma assisted by George Cubbin, his ever hungry but capable assistant. The three now have to investigate some of the deadliest and spookiest spectral hauntings in London. However, they have some of the most advanced ghost hunting and fighting tools of the day that include salt bombs, chains, iron filings, magnesium flares, a lot of courage and many cups of tea. But being one of the smallest agencies in London, they face fierce completion from other better equipped and funded agencies. Their assignments are full of gruesome discoveries and sometimes-disastrous endings in the haunted streets and ancient houses of England.

The Lockwood & Co. series of novels is mainly concerned with the three agents of the Lockwood & Co. agency of Ghostbusters in London, England. Lucy the lead character and narrator of the novel series is a fifteen-year-old girl and newest member of the company run by Anthony Lockwood a fellow teenager. Lucy, also known as Lucy Purser is described as a quick-tempered girl that would start a fight at any time. Her father is a stationmaster in the North of England, where she was born and raised for most of her early childhood. She had been a ghost hunter in a local agency but after some of her fellow agents were involved in a fatal hunt, she is so traumatized that she decides to leave and start over in London. Lucy’s talent is great empathy and a reassuring touch. Anthony Lockwood Lucy’s boss is a dashing though reckless teenager whose talent is great eyesight. Lockwood prides himself on his thorough approach to dangerous haunted house cases. He is a very mysterious man and the much we know about him is that he has poor hearing, possesses a glass jar possessed by a ghost, and has no family. Anthony’s deputy is the portly, slovenly, and cynical George Cubbins. George prefers longer wait times between hunts, and spends most of the downtime in preparation and research. While he gets along famously with Anthony Lockwood his boss, he does not get along with Lucy.

As an author that has been influenced by the likes of Conan Doyle of the Sherlock Holmes Mysteries, and Edgar Allan Poe who writes both detective mysteries and the paranormal, the Lockwood & Co. is an explosive mix. Just like Stroud’s earlier Bartimaeus series, the Lockwood & Co series is set in epoch London, which gives the supernatural and magical aspects of the novels more realism. Jonathan Stroud uses real buildings and roads in the settings of the novels, even as established legends and folklore form the basis for the novels. For instance, for millennia, the British have believed salt, iron, and silver are powerful weapons against the paranormal. However, the novels also add elements of other cultures such as the social stratification of the spirit world, which are derived from Arabian folklore. As for the essence of the novels, they are all about an other worldly scenario, where the adults are helpless and have to depend on children to protect and even die for them. The adults are in great danger from the ghosts, as they cannot see them coming. On the other hand, kids can see the ghosts coming from afar and hence they have a chance to prepare and maybe fight them off. However, even as the children are the ones with the power to see and fight the ghosts, most of the agencies are run by adults, except for Lockwood & Co, which makes its own rules. Over the course of the series, Lockwood gets on the nerves of the adult agencies being more open-minded and thus more effective in its methods. But even with their more effective methods, the Lockwood three still have to enter terrible, vast haunted buildings where they put their lives at risk.

Currently being adapted for film, “The Screaming Staircase”, the first novel in the Lockwood & Co. series of novels by Jonathan Stroud is a humorous, yet suspenseful and chilling novel set in haunted London. For more than half a century, England has been afflicted by an epidemic of ghosts that has been spreading terror with impunity. Several psychic investigations agencies have been set up to tackle the spectral apparitions, and Lockwood & Co. of London is just one such agency. Lucy Carlyle is a highly skilled and talented agent that left her home in the North of England to come to London for better things. Finding a job in London is not easy and she soon finds herself working at the smallest agency run by Anthony Lockwood. Things go wrong when one of their ghost hunting missions goes terribly wrong leaving Lockwood & Co. in a precarious position. Lucy, and her colleagues, Anthony and George will have to spend the night in the darkest most haunted house in London, if they are to save the company and their very lives.

“The Whispering Skull” is a chilling sequel to the first novel in the Lockwood & Co. series of novels. Six months after surviving a night at England’s most haunted house, the company is not in a much better position. A rival agency keeps on stealing their hard work until Anthony has enough and challenges them to a duel. They will now compete on a job and whoever loses has to declare their loss in the Times. Things are looking up and the company even gets a new client in Mr. Saunders who asks the company to accompany him at the excavation of a Victorian doctor that died trying to talk to the dead. Things go well until George’s curiosity gets the better of him, and unsealing the silver coffin, he steals a weird glass object to lets out a horrible phantom. Getting back home, Lucy soon notices that the skull in the ghost jar is making weirdly disturbing urgent whispers. The team is summoned by DEPRAC who informs them that Bickerstaff’s coffin just had a highly dangerous relic that may be a danger to the public stolen from it, and the team has to find it or else…

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lockwood & Co