Greg Egan Books In Order

Publication Order of Subjective Cosmology Cycle Books

Quarantine (1992) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Permutation City (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Distress (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Orthogonal Books

The Clockwork Rocket (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Eternal Flame (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Arrows of Time (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

An Unusual Angle (1983) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Diaspora (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blood Sisters (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Teranesia (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Schild's Ladder (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Incandescence (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Zendegi (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dichronauts (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Axiomatic (1982) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Our Lady of Chernobyl (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Luminous (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dark Integers and Other Stories (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Oceanic (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Crystal Nights and Other Stories (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Greg Egan is an Australian bestselling science fiction writer and a retired programmer born on 20th August 1961. Egan graduated from the University of Western Australia with a Bachelor degree in mathematics. In 1983 he released his first writing, and most of his early writing featured strong elements of supernatural horror. His genre of specialty is hardcore science fiction genres with quantum ontology and mathematics themes inclusive of the essence of consciousness. In addition to the above themes he also specializes in other topics such as posthumanism, genetics, sexuality, simulated reality, artificial intelligence, mind uploading and some perception of rational realism being greater than religion. He is also popularly known for the way he deals with complicated technical things such as epistemology and inventive physics in precisely defined manner.


Greg Egan has won several awards including Hugo Award, and eight of his published novels have been shortlisted several times for the same award. Other awards claimed by the Australian author include John W C Memorial Award and Kurd Lebowitz’s-Preis Award (2000) for the novel Distress for being the best Fiction novel of the year. Greg Egan is also a multiple winner of the Seiun Award. Additionally, his novel Teranesia was listed the winner of the Ditmar Award in the year 2000 for being the best book of the year, unfortunately, the author rejected the award.

Books Written

Greg Egan writings include nine published novels; the first book Unusual Angle published in 1983, followed by Quarantine of 1992. Zendegi is the last on the book list and was released in 2010. In 2011, Clockwork Rocket was published and was the first book of the orthogonal trilogy. In 2012, The Eternal Flame was released as a sequel to the series and in 2013; The Arrows of Time was released as the last book in the trilogy.

The author has also published several collections such as Axiomatic of 1995, Dark Integers (2008), Luminous (1998), Crystal Nights (2009), and Oceanic of 2009.

Greg Egan has also written other numerous short fiction works such as Only Connect, Yeyuka, and Worthless among many others. Apart from novel and collection writing, Egan has published various academic papers such as An Efficient Algorithm………. Riemannian 10j Symbols & Asymptotic of 10j Symbols in conjunction with Dan Christensen.

The novel Axiomatic inspired the filming of a short movie that commenced airing in 2015.

Description of 2 Early Books

Quarantine: novel themed in hard science fiction genre and focuses within a detective fiction framework. The book explores the impacts of Copenhagen view on Quantum Mechanics which the author admits that the concept was chosen for its entertainment value rather than its likelihood probability of being true. The novel storyline is set shortly( 2034-2080) when the solar system has been covered by an impermeable dome known as the Bubble. This bubble-like shield permits no light to enter through the solar system, and as a consequence, the light from neither the star nor the stars can be seen in the sky.

In the novel, constant human observation of the universe resulted in a decrease of potentiality and diversity of the universe. For example, by making the world uninhabitable by beings, those have always relied on the stars as their home. The novel suggests that the bubble was formed to act as a barrier to prevent humans from causing massive destruction to the entire of the universe by observation processes.

The protagonist is tasked with a case to investigate the case of a missing lady from the psychiatric institute which lands him to Ensemble- an organization developing a wave function to collapse the Eigenstate mod. The Eigenstate mod makes a person to stop being an observer “via” quantum mechanics and consequently exist in a superposition of several states simultaneously.

The story narrator/protagonist is forcefully put under control of Ensemble through a force installment of a “Loyalty mod” which makes him loyal to the organization. The narrator later meets the “Canon” a group of other Ensemble Loyalists who have secretly discovered that their “masters” have failed to specify what the canon should be loyal to, except the organization name itself. Now working with the canon, the narrator successfully manages to steal the Eigenstate mod.

The hope of the entire humanity relies on one rogue member of the canon who infects the whole humanity with the software to bring freedom to the rest of the humanity. In a way, the author tries to put out the idea of what we become when we try to change ourselves.

Permutation City is the second book in the Subjective Cosmology series by Greg Egan. It is a science fiction book that describes the events that take place in the mid 21st century when medical and computer technology have advanced such that it is possible to scan a human brain and create a copy of a brain that runs as a copy of the original person. However, due to its high nature, this process is almost inaccessible to some people. An insurance salesperson Paul Durham provides protection to copies produced. In 2050, he begins to promise immortality to the copies in a virtual world known as Permutation City. This world will have limitless supplies and will never be shut down. In this way, Paul bases his claim on a theory that the entire universe is made from arbitrary bits of info drawn from distinct places and time and placed in an organized manner by an observer. Through his theory, he claims that this would be achievable mainly through a computer program.

With the aid of Maria Deluca, a software programmer, Paul Durham manages to create Permutation City with success, and after 7000 years he manages to reawaken Maria’s copy. The duo manages to discover that the planet they created has formed intelligent life form- insect-like organisms. They try to approach the creatures but the creatures do not agree with their story of having been built by a computer program. Permutation City, therefore, is at risk when a copy of the universe begins to reprobate the permutation city computer program and redesign it in relation to Lambertian theory of life. Now Durham must work against time to create a copy of the Permutation city to save the city and the residents in an almost impossible ordeal.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Greg Egan